Exhibition

March 15 > 30 | Z∆ 0UΠ΄ | 38, rue du Port

Free access 1 pm > 7 pm (Tuesday > Saturday)  2 pm > 6 pm (Sunday)

JOHN SANBORN

Sorry

2016 | 2 channel video installation with sound | 1 channel 9×16 projection | 1 channel 16×9 small HD monitor | 3’23 (loop)

We’re all feeling fearful, stressed and pissed. We’re appalled at what divides us, and keeps pushing us apart. Our leaders are working overtime to find someone to blame – and although we know different – we feel guilty and ashamed.

We’re being criticized for who we are, with indignity flung not at just stereotypical villains but anyone and everyone. This is done in an attempt to divert us from finding solutions our shared problems. There are multiple motives for estrangement, even within cohesive movements; so we’re ignoring that what unties us is our sorrow.

Yes, we’re sorry. We’re sorry for who we are, how we act, what we think, and our failures. We’re sorry to offend, ignore and perpetuate the shit we’re responsible for causing. And we’re sorry that we are powerless to fix things.

Sorry is an ironic but heartfelt call to action rendered as an a cappella song that is somber, silly and starkly to the point. Why are we wasting time on hate, division, fear and anger? Sorry.

Sorry is sung by a collection of people of all ages, races, genders and personality types – singing “on the beat” and occasionally off key. There is an ironic honesty to raw voices expressing a confused and shifting perspective on the effect that social naiveté is having on how we present ourselves and live our lives.

John Sanborn is an award-winning, world-renowned media artist whose body of work reaches from the technological stone age of the 1970’s to the digital high-tech bleeding edge of today. His media work has manifested as television, installations, games, Internet experiences and plain old video art.

His work has been shown at every major museum in the world; including the Whitney Museum; MOMA, New York; the Prado, Madrid; the Centre Pompidou, Paris; the Tate Gallery, London; and the Seibu Museum, Tokyo. Electronic Arts Intermix distributes his video art and has since his first project, “The Last Videotapes of Marcel Duchamp. Sanborn’s television programs have been broadcast worldwide, including works with Robert Ashley, Bill T. Jones, John Zorn, Nam June Paik, Philip Glass, Twyla Tharp, Mikhail Baryshnikov, David Gordon, and The Residents.

John Sanborn was granted an honorary Masters of Cinema degree from ESEC, in Paris, and was recently named a Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the Minister of Culture of the Republic of France. John Sanborn lives in Berkeley California.

johnsanborn-video.com

Exposition

15 > 30 mars | Z∆ 0UΠ΄ | 38, rue du Port

Accès libre 13h > 19h (du mardi au samedi)  14h > 18h (dimanche)

JOHN SANBORN

Sorry

2016 | Installation vidéo | Deux écrans | Son et couleurs | 3’23 (loop)

Nous nous sentons tous effrayés, stressés et énervés. Nous sommes consternés par ce qui nous divise et continue de nous séparer. Nos dirigeants travaillent sans relâche pour trouver des boucs émissaires – et même si nous nous savons différents – nous nous sentons coupables et honteux.

Nous sommes critiqués pour ce que nous sommes, et cette indignité ne vise pas seulement les stéréotypes, mais tout le monde. Ceci, dans le but de nous empêcher de trouver des solutions à nos problèmes communs. Les motifs de distanciation sont multiples, même au sein de mouvements organisés ; notre chagrin, c’est ce qui nous divise.

Oui, nous sommes désolés (Sorry). Nous sommes désolés de ce que nous sommes, de comment nous agissons, de ce que nous pensons et de nos échecs. Nous sommes désolés d’offenser, d’ignorer et de perpétuer la merde dont nous sommes responsables. Et nous sommes désolés d’être impuissants à régler le problème.

Sorry est un appel à l’action ironique mais sincère, interprété comme une chanson a cappella sombre, stupide et sans équivoque. Pourquoi perdons-nous du temps à haïr, diviser, avoir peur et être en colère ? Pardon (Sorry).

Sorry est chanté – de manière plus ou moins juste – par une ribambelle de personnes de tout âge, origine, sexe et sensibilité. Il y a une honnêteté ironique dans ces voix brutes qui expriment une perspective confuse et changeante sur la façon dont nous nous présentons et vivons nos vies.

 

John Sanborn est un artiste média dont le travail a été montré dans les plus grands musées et diffusé dans le monde entier.

Il a exposé au Whitney Museum, au MoMA (collection permanente) et à The Kitchen à New York ; à l’Institute for Contemporary Arts et à la Tate Modern à Londres ainsi qu’au Centre Pompidou (collection permanente) à Paris. En résidence d’artiste au WNET-TV Lab, de la chaîne de télévision publique américaine PBS, il a obtenu le soutien de plusieurs institutions de référence comme la National Endowment for the Arts, le New York State Council for the Arts et la Fondation Rockfeller. Le magazine Vogue l’a consacré « génie confirmé de la vidéo ».

En 2016, John Sanborn a exposé ses travaux au Centre pour la culture et les arts de Bangkok, ainsi qu’aux festivals Atout Paik et Bandits-Mages en France.

L’artiste s’est vu décerné le Master des arts du Cinéma d’honneur par l’Ecole supérieure d’Etudes Cinématographiques de Paris et a été décoré en 2015 Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres par la Ministre de la Culture et de la Communication. Sanborn vit et travaille en Californie.

johnsanborn-video.com