Exhibition

March 15 > 30 | Salle Gilbert-Gaillard | 2, rue Saint-Pierre 

Free access  1 pm > 7 pm (Tuesday > Saturday)  2 pm > 6 pm (Sunday)

 

NAM JUNE PAIK

TV Buddha

1974 |  Video Installation | Statue, television, camera

When Nam June Paik presented 13 prepared televisions in the manner of John Cage and his pianos, he entered the history of art by creating the first work of video art in 1963. Fascinated by television, he explored all its aspects, its means of expression and its technology, even inventing processes that have become classic, such as TV duplex or multiplex broadcasting.

The presentation of TV Buddha is a reminder, a duty of memory along with a landmark that today’s video, digital artists, and the public must know. By its philosophical dimension, its aesthetics, this installation still questions, today as yesterday, what moves us.

Nam June Paik is a South Korean artist born in Seoul on July 20, 1932 who died in Miami on January 29, 2006. He used various media in his work and is considered the creator of video art. Among other distinctions, he is the recipient of the Fukuoka Asian Culture Award in 1995 and the Kyoto Award in 1998.

Nam June Paik‘s work consists of video installations in which he introduces musical instruments and television monitors that he modifies to divert them from their original function. Unlike cinema, video art is less a matter of filming than of working on the material of the electronic image itself. Nam June Paik manipulates images and sounds, superimposing them, altering them, stretching them and accelerating them to make them unrecognizable. By revealing the technical process of television, the artist unveils the simulacrum of the television image and updates its ideological and technological nature.

Exposition

15 > 30 mars | Salle Gilbert-Gaillard | 2, rue Saint-Pierre 

Accès libre  13h > 19h (du mardi au samedi)  14h > 18h (dimanche)

 

NAM JUNE PAIK

TV Buddha

1974 | Installation vidéo | Statue, téléviseur, caméra

En 1963, en présentant 13 téléviseurs préparés à la manière de John Cage et de ses pianos, Nam June Paik entre dans l’histoire de l’art en créant la première œuvre d’art vidéo. Fasciné par la télévision, il en explore tous les aspects, ses moyens d’expression et sa technologie, inventant même des procédés devenus classiques comme le duplex ou multiplex (diffusion d’images instantanées de sources diverses et géographiquement distante.

La présentation de TV Buddha est un rappel, un devoir de mémoire en même temps qu’un repère que les artistes d’aujourd’hui, de la vidéo, du numérique et le public doivent connaître. Par sa dimension philosophique, son esthétique, cette installation interroge encore, aujourd’hui comme hier, ce qui nous meut.

Nam June Paik est un artiste sud-coréen né à Séoul le 20 juillet 1932 et mort à Miami le 29 janvier 2006. Il a employé différents médias dans son travail et est considéré comme le créateur de l’art vidéo. Il est notamment lauréat du prix de la culture asiatique de Fukuoka en 1995 et du Prix de Kyoto en 1998.

L’ensemble de l’œuvre de Nam June Paik se compose d’installations vidéo dans lesquels il introduit des instruments de musique et des moniteurs de télévision qu’il modifie pour les détourner de leur fonction initiale. A la différence du cinéma, l’art vidéo consiste moins à filmer qu’à travailler la matière de l’image électronique. Nam June Paik manipule les images et les sons, en les superposant, les altérant, les étirant et les accélérant jusqu’à les rendre méconnaissables. En révélant le procédé technique de la télévision, l’artiste dévoile le simulacre de l’image télévisuelle et met à jour sa nature idéologique et technologique.

À la fois sculptures et mise en scène sonore et visuelle, les installations de Nam June Paik offrent aux visiteurs, une expérience sensorielle totale.